Hidden Treasures

Deserted.

On a lonely island

Surrounded by lifeboats

But nobody cared I was drowning.

Stories appeared

Written in the sand

Whispers repeated through the centuries

Of shadows that surrounded me

The superstitions bombarding

I tell myself

Not to conform to my minds trickery

To grin until it hurts

So I dug a little deeper

And made my own shelter

And they crept a little closer

To the coast before me

But I no longer cared to see

Because in the end

When the war is over

Happiness will be there

Buried beneath

My own hidden treasures

For me to find

And for me alone to keep.

 

-E

 

Artwork by Rachel Christine Nowick

2 thoughts on “Hidden Treasures

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

